Georgian Women’s Championship: Lela Javakhishvili wins fifth title


Lela Javakhishvili emerged as the winner of the Georgian Women’s Championship 2024. One of the most titled Georgian chess players, Lela clinched her fifth national title. She previously won this event in 2001, 2007, 2014 and 2016.

The Georgian Women’s Chess Championship 2024, a 10-player round-robin with classical time control, took place from February 9-18 in the country’s capital Tbilisi.

As is often the case in  Georgian Women’s championships, it was a very close race among the top-rated players and the members of the national team IM Lela Javakhishvili, GM Nino Batsiashvili, IM Meri Arabidze and GM Bella Khotenashvili.

Lela Javakhishvili delivered an outstanding performance, scoring 7.5/9. Most importantly, the native of Telavi defeated her main rivals, Nino Batsiashvili and Meri Arabidze, in the direct encounters to clinch the title. The champion became the only unbeaten player in the event.

Nino Batsiashvili (7/9) and Meri Arabidze (6.5/9) stayed in the contest for the most part but could not keep up with the champion and took silver and bronze, respectively.

Final standings:

1IMJavakhishvili, Lela2438
2GMBatsiashvili, Nino24477
3IMArabidze, Meri2461
4GMKhotenashvili, Bella24646
5IMMelia, Salome23554
6WFMMgeladze, Kesaria20404
7WCMTsetskhladze, Mariam18813
8 Donghvani, Nia2029
9WFMLomaia, Diana2001
10WFMKirtadze, Anastasia20892